Святые Иконы Божией Матери на Горе Афон. Часть I

Как вы, вероятно, знаете, Афон – это не только знаменитая гора в Греции, но еще и один из самых важных центров восточно-православного монашества в мире. Будучи самоуправляемым и полуавтономным монашеским сообществом, Афон в настоящее время является домом для двадцати монастырей, в которых хранятся некоторые из наиболее значимых восточно-православных икон, византийских святых икон и других памятников религиозного иконописного искусства.

Стоит также отметить, что не каждый может посетить гору Афон и ее знаменитые монастыри. Во-первых, сюда допускаются только мужчины. Во-вторых, количество посетителей ограничено, и у вас должно быть специальное разрешение на посещение. Несмотря на это, всегда есть возможность взглянуть на это великолепное духовное место и ознакомиться с некоторыми из самых почитаемых православных икон, хранящихся здесь, благодаря Интернету. Предложенный ниже список святых икон Божией Матери вам в этом поможет.

Святые иконы Божией Матери

  • Иверская икона Божией Матери

Иверская икона Божией Матери, также известная как «Портаитисса» или «Вратарница», по приданию была написана в I веке самим святым Лукой, который также является автором Евангелия и Деяний Апостолов, что делает ее одной из самых значимых старинных икон на Афоне. Она хранится в Иверском монастыре.

Icon of the Iver Mother of God

  • Икона Божией Матери «Достойно есть»

Чудотворная икона Божией Матери «Достойно есть» или «Милующая» является еще одним прекрасным примером святые икон на горе Афон. Она пребывает в древнейшем храме Протатон в Карее, посвященном Успению Богородицы.

Icon of the Mother of God “Axion Estin”

  • Икона Божией Матери «Скоропослушница»

Старинная икона Божией Матери «Скоропослушница», которая предположительно была написана в X веке, хранится в монастыре Дохиар – одном из самых красивых и изящных монастырей Святой Горы (см. фото в заголовке статьи). Она также считается чудотворной.

Icon of the Mother of God “Quick to Hear”

  • Икона Божией Матери «Геронтисса»

Икона Божией Матери «Геронтисса», что означает «Настоятельница» или «Старица», представляет собой чудотворный старинный образ Пресвятой Богородицы в полный рост, обрамленный ризой из серебра. В настоящее время эта икона пребывает в знаменитом монастыре Пантократор.

Icon of the Mother of God “Panagia Gerontissa”

Следите за нашим блогом, чтобы узнать больше об удивительных святых иконах Божией Матери и других выдающихся памятниках религиозного иконописного искусства, хранящихся на горе Афон!

Photo credit: commons.wikimedia.org, pravoslavie.ru

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Holy Icons of the Mother of God on Mount Athos. Part I

As you probably know, Mount Athos is not only a renowned Greek mountain but also one of the most important centers of Eastern Orthodox monasticism in the world. Being a self-governing and semi-autonomous monastic state, it is currently home to twenty monasteries that possess some of the most significant Eastern Orthodox icons, Byzantine holy icons, and other examples of religious icon art.

It is also worth noting that not everyone can visit Mount Athos and its famous monasteries. First of all, only males are allowed entrance. Secondly, the number of visitors is restricted, and you should have a special entrance permit. However, you can always take a look at this important spiritual place and get acquainted with some of the most venerated Orthodox Christian icons preserved on Mount Athos thanks to the Internet. The following list of the holy icons of the Mother of God will help you with that!

Holy icons of the Mother of God

  • Icon of the Iver Mother of God 

Icon of the Iver Mother of God, or as it is also called Panagia Portaitissa, is believed to be painted in the 1st century by St. Luke, the writer of the Gospel and the Acts of the Apostles, which makes it one of the most significant antique icons on Mount Athos. It is preserved in the Monastery of Iviron.

Icon of the Iver Mother of God

  • Icon of the Mother of God “Axion Estin”

Another important example of holy icons on Mount Athos is the miracle-working icon of the Mother of God “Axion Estin (Worthy is).” It is preserved in the ancient Church of the Protaton in Karyes, dedicated to the Dormition of the Virgin Mary.

Icon of the Mother of God “Axion Estin”

  • Icon of the Mother of God “Quick to Hear”

The antique icon of the Mother of God “Quick to Hear,” which is considered to be painted in the 10th century, is preserved in the Dochiariou monastery, one of the most beautiful and elegant monasteries of the Holy Mountain (see photo at the top of the post). It is also considered miracle-working.

Icon of the Mother of God “Quick to Hear”

  • Icon of the Mother of God “Panagia Gerontissa”

Icon of the Mother of God “Panagia Gerontissa,” meaning “the Abbess” or “the Elderess,” is a silver-covered miraculous antique icon depicting the Theotokos full-length. It is currently kept in the renowned Pantokratoros monastery.

Icon of the Mother of God “Panagia Gerontissa”

Keep reading our blog to learn more about amazing holy icons of the Mother of God and other exceptional examples of religious icon art preserved on Mount Athos!

Photo credit: commons.wikimedia.org, pravoslavie.ru

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.