Икона «Распятие Христа»: Иконография и Значение

The Crucifixion icon

Икона «Распятие» – одна из наиболее значимых восточно-православных икон с изображением Иисуса Христа. Она не просто очень красива, она несет в себе глубокий смысл, постоянно напоминая о совершенной жертве Христа на Кресте – важном для всех верующих христиан событии, которое произошло на Голгофе почти две тысячи лет назад.

Как вы, наверное, знаете, распятие было распространенной формой высшей меры наказания среди римлян, а самой известной жертвой распятия был Иисус Христос. Согласно четырем каноническим Евангелиям, Христа раздели донага и пригвоздили к кресту, на котором он висел в агонии шесть часов, пока не умер. Это монументальное событие, которое тесно связано с Воскресением Христовым, и изображено на иконе «Распятие». Более того, довольно часто Распятие Христа показано как на земле, так и в небесном царстве.

The Crucifixion iconТрадиционная икона «Распятие» – это рукописная икона со сценой Распятия Иисуса Христа в центре композиции. Христос обычно окружен Пресвятой Девой Марией, Марией Магдалиной, Иоанном Богословом, Лонгином Сотником и несколькими другими наблюдателями. Все фигуры, изображенные на иконе «Распятие», переполнены эмоциями, связанными с горем, но ничто не указывает на звук. Икона, как и ее персонажи, хранит молчание. Сам Христос изображен с закрытыми глазами и склоненной головой, давая преставление о последних минутах жизни Господа на земле.

В композицию иконы «Распятие» также часто включено изображение пещеры прямо у основания Креста, в которой можно различить череп и кости Адама. Согласно легенде, кости Адама, которые были похоронены под Голгофой потомками Ноя, появились на поверхности земли в момент смерти Христа из-за сильного землетрясения, расколовшего скалу. Кровь Христа стекала с Креста на кости Адама, принося искупление первому человеку на Земле и всей человеческой расе.

Икона «Распятие» может быть дополнена определенными сценами на полях. Как правило, это «Вход Господень в Иерусалим», «Тайная Вечеря», «Предательство Иуды», «Приведение Христа к Пилату», «Снятие со Креста», «Положение во Гроб» и несколько других важных сцен, связанных с последними днями жизни Иисуса Христа и Его погребением.

Икона «Распятие» – действительно одна из наиболее значимых восточно-православных икон. Показывая распятого Христа, чья кровь стекает с Креста на землю, она является важным символом искупления, которое ожидает всех умерших.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

The Crucifixion Icon: Iconography & Meaning

The Crucifixion icon

The Crucifixion icon is one of the most significant Eastern Orthodox icons depicting Jesus Christ. Not only is it beautiful, but it bears a deep meaning, constantly reminding us of Christ’s sacrifice on the Cross, an important for all Christian believers event that took place at Golgotha nearly two thousand years ago.

As you probably know, the crucifixion was a common method of capital punishment among the Romans, and Jesus Christ was the most famous victim of the crucifixion. According to the four canonical Gospels, Christ was stripped of his clothing and nailed to the cross, where he hung in agony for six hours before he died. This monumental event, which is closely linked with the Resurrection of Christ, is depicted in the Crucifixion icon. Moreover, quite often, the Crucifixion of Christ is shown both in the earthly and heavenly realms.

The Crucifixion iconThe traditional Crucifixion icon is a hand-painted icon with the scene of Jesus Christ’s Crucifixion in the center of the composition. Christ is usually surrounded by the Blessed Virgin Mary, Mary Magdalene, St. John the Apostle, Longinos the Centurion, and several other onlookers. All the figures depicted in the Crucifixion icon show emotions associated with grief, but nothing suggests sound. Their mouths are not open, and the icon holds silence. Christ Himself is depicted with His eyes closed and His head bowed as if showing His last minutes of life on earth.

The composition of the Crucifixion icon also often includes an open cave with the skull and bones of Adam right at the bottom of the Cross. According to the legend, Adam’s bones, which had been buried under Golgotha by the descendants of Noah, appeared on the surface at the moment of Christ’s death due to a great earthquake that split apart the rocks. Christ’s blood flowed down from the Cross and on to Adam’s bones, bringing the redemption to the First Man and the whole human race.

The centerpiece of the Crucifixion icon can be surrounded by certain border scenes. These may include The Entry into Jerusalem, The Last Supper, The Betrayal of Judas, The Bringing of Christ before Pilate, The Descent from the Cross, The Entombment of Christ, and several other important scenes showing Jesus Christ’s last days and burial.

The Crucifixion icon is indeed one of the most significant Eastern Orthodox icons. Depicting Christ stretched out on the Cross, with His blood flowing down, it is a clear symbol of the redemption that reaches all who have died.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.