Старинные Русские Иконы Воскресения Христова

В этом году православные христиане отмечали Пасху 8 апреля. Это важное событие, знаменующее воскрешение Иисуса Христа из мертвых, является величайшим из всех святых праздников в литургическом календаре, поэтому неудивительно, что его часто называют «праздников праздником и торжеством из торжеств». Нет необходимости говорить, что сцена Воскресения Христова, изначально описанная в Новом Завете, является одной из самых популярных в христианском искусстве, и она, безусловно, самая популярная в русском иконописном искусстве. Если вы обратите внимание на старинные русские иконы в нашем каталоге, вы найдете множество великолепных экземпляров, посвященных этому знаменательному событию. В связи с этим не будет лишним рассказать вам больше об иконографии Воскресения Христова.

Старинные Русские Иконы Воскресения

Прежде всего, важно отметить, что довольно трудно найти византийские православные иконы и старинные русские иконы, которые изображают сам момент Воскресения. Большинство из них принадлежит к специфическому иконографическому типу, известному как «Воскресение – Сошествие во ад», который отличается тем, что Христос изображен стоящим на вратах ада и помогающим заключенным там душам освободиться. Именно этот иконографический тип Воскресения считается каноническим в Восточной Православной Церкви, и на это есть очень простая причина. Дело в том, что эта сцена отражает традиционное христианское учение о победе Христа над смертью и Его триумфальном сошествии в ад, чтобы воскресить мертвых и спасти их души, которые находились там в ловушке до Его воскрешения.

Однако нельзя не упомянуть, что, хотя большинство старинных русских икон принадлежит к иконографическому типу «Воскресение – Сошествие во ад», существует также много современных религиозных икон, изображающих Иисуса Христа, восстающего из могилы и появляющегося перед Его учениками. Эта сцена была заимствована из западного искусства и не является традиционной для православных икон. Вместе в тем, справедливости ради следует отметить, что старинные русские иконы с подобным изображением Воскресения также существуют, но они довольно редки и не так популярны, как более распространенные иконы типа «Воскресение – Сошествие во ад».

В любом случае, будь то старинные русские иконы с традиционной сценой Воскресения Христова или современные религиозные иконы других иконографических типов, каждая из них важна и может стать достойным дополнением к вашему домашнему иконостасу или коллекции религиозного иконописного искусства. В конце концов, Воскресение Христово является самым значительным событием во всем христианском мире.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Icon of The Resurrection – The Harrowing of Hades

Antique Russian Icons of the Resurrection of Christ

This year, Orthodox Easter or Paskha was celebrated on April 8. This important event marking the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead is the greatest of all holy days in the liturgical calendar, so it is no wonder that it is often called the “feast of feasts.” It is needless to say that the scene of the Resurrection of Christ, which was initially described in the New Testament, is one of the most popular in Christian art, and it is definitely the most popular in Russian icon art. If you look through our catalog of antique Russian icons, you will find many exceptional examples dedicated to this significant event, so it won’t be superfluous to tell you more about the iconography of the Resurrection of Christ.

Antique Russian icons of the Resurrection

First of all, it is important to note that it is pretty hard to find Byzantine Orthodox icons and antique Russian icons depicting the very moment of the Resurrection. Most of them belong to the specific iconographic type known as “The Resurrection – The Harrowing of Hades,” which shows Christ standing on the gates of Hades or hell and helping souls imprisoned there get free. It is this iconographic type of the Resurrection that is considered canonical in the Eastern Orthodox Church, and there is a very simple reason for that. The fact is that this scene reflects the traditional Christian teaching on Christ’s victory over death and His triumphant descent into Hades to raise the dead and deliver saved souls from hell where they were trapped before His resurrection.

However, it is impossible not to mention that while most antique Russian icons belong to “The Resurrection – The Harrowing of Hades” iconographic type, there are many modern religious icons depicting Jesus Christ emerging from the tomb and appearing before His disciples. This scene was borrowed from Western art and is not traditional for Orthodox Christian icons. Along with that, for the sake of justice, it should be noted that antique Russian icons with a similar depiction of the Resurrection also exist, but they are quite rare and not as popular as more common “The Resurrection – The Harrowing of Hades” icons.

Anyway, whether it comes to antique Russian icons with the traditional scene of the Resurrection of Christ or modern religious icons of other iconographic types, each of them is important and can become a worthy addition to your home iconostasis or collection of religious icon art. After all, the Resurrection of Christ is the most significant event in the entire Christian world.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!