Восточно-Православные Иконы Входа Господня в Иерусалим

Сегодня вся Восточная Православная Церковь празднует Вербное воскресенье, которое знаменует конец Великого поста и начало Страстной недели. Это одно из ключевых событий в истории христианства, известное с древних времен, а также один из двунадесятых праздников, который всегда выпадает на воскресенье перед Пасхой. Как вы, вероятно, знаете, Вербное воскресенье символизирует триумфальное вступление Иисуса Христа в Иерусалим – сцену, описанную во всех четырех Евангелиях. Эту же сцену можно найти на многих восточно-православных иконах, которые довольно часто встречаются в церквях и домах верующих христиан по всему миру. В данной статье давайте более подробно рассмотрим эти удивительные православные иконы Входа Господня в Иерусалим.

Восточно-православные иконы Вербного воскресенья

Существует несколько иконографических типов восточно-православных икон, изображающих сцену Входа Господня в Иерусалим, однако все они имеют общую основу. Иисус Христос, направляющийся к Иерусалиму, изображен в центре иконы верхом на осле. Его невидимая слава, скрытая в человеческом образе, показана в виде нимба над головой, а свиток в Его руках означает Святую Мудрость. Стоит также отметить, что существуют вариации восточно-православных икон, показывающие Христа верхом на жеребце. В этом нет ничего удивительного, поскольку оба животных являются символическими: осел – это символ мира, а жеребенок обычно ассоциируется с язычниками, тем самым показывая, что Христос пришел не только к израильтянам, но и ко всем остальным народам.

Город Иерусалим обычно изображен справа от Христа, иногда с куполообразным храмом, увенчанным крестом. Елеонская гора находится слева. Двенадцать апостолов, возглавляемых святым Петром и святым Иоанном, следуют за Мессией. Некоторые восточно-православные иконы Вербного воскресенья показывают Иисуса Христа со слегка повернутой головой в сторону идущих за Ним учеников, как бы увещевая их продолжать путь (см. фото выше).

Если вы посмотрите на ворота Иерусалима, то вы увидите, что еврейский народ ожидает Христа, а дети устилают перед Ним дорогу своей одеждой и пальмовыми ветвями (на русских иконах – вербой). Эту интересную деталь можно найти на всех восточно-православных иконах Входа Господня в Иерусалим. Ее смысл очень прост: только дети с их простотой могут восхвалять Господа с преданностью и энтузиазмом. Что касается взрослых, они склонны отвлекаться.

Как вы можете видеть, восточно-православные иконы Вербного воскресенья – это не просто красивые религиозные изображения. Они рассказывают целую историю, которая имеет огромное значение для всего христианского мира.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Russian Icon of the Entry into Jerusalem

Eastern Orthodox Icons of the Entry into Jerusalem

Today, the entire Eastern Orthodox Church celebrates Palm Sunday marking the end of Lent and the beginning of Holy Week. It is one of the key events in Christian history known since antiquity and also one of the Twelve Great Feasts, which always falls on Sunday before Easter or Paskha. As you probably know, Palm Sunday celebrates the triumphal entry of Jesus Christ into Jerusalem, the scene depicted in all four Gospels. The same scene can be found in many Eastern Orthodox icons that are pretty common in churches and homes of Christian believers throughout the world. In this blog post, let’s take a closer look at the amazing Orthodox icons of the Entry into Jerusalem!

Eastern Orthodox icons of Palm Sunday 

There are several iconographic types of Eastern Orthodox icons depicting the Entry into Jerusalem; however, they all are almost similar in composition. Jesus Christ is depicted in the center of the icon, sitting upon a donkey and heading toward Jerusalem. His invisible glory is represented by a halo, and the scroll in His hands means Holy Wisdom. It is worth noting that there are also variations of the Eastern Orthodox icons showing Christ on the colt’s back. There is nothing surprising about that as both animals are symbolic: a donkey is a symbol of peace while a colt is associated with the Gentiles, which means that Christ came not only for the Jews but for all nations.

The city of Jerusalem is usually depicted to the right of Christ, sometimes with the domed Temple topped by a Cross. The Mount of Olives is to the left. The Twelve Apostles headed by St. Peter and St. John follow the Messiah. In some Eastern Orthodox icons of Palm Sunday, Jesus Christ is depicted turning back to His disciples as if exhorting them to continue (see photo above).

If you look at Jerusalem’s gates, you will see the Hebrews waiting for Christ while children are laying down their clothes and palm branches (or local trees in Russian icons) before Him. This interesting detail can be found in all Eastern Orthodox icons of the Entry into Jerusalem. Its meaning is very simple: only children with their simplicity can praise the Lord with devotion and enthusiasm. As for adults, they tend to get distracted.

As you can see, Eastern Orthodox icons of Palm Sunday are not just beautiful religious icon paintings. They tell a whole story that is of great importance to the entire Christian world.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!