Самые Почитаемые Католические Реликварии в Мире

The Most Revered Catholic Reliquaries in the World

На протяжении многих столетий верующие люди пытались найти любые предметы, имеющие хотя бы какое-то отношение к Иисусу Христу. В этом нет ничего удивительного, так как многие из них, согласно христианской традиции, обладают исцеляющими свойствами. Отсюда и появление многочисленных интернет-магазинов, предлагающих богатый выбор религиозных артефактов на любой вкус. Некоторые из этих святых предметов, связанных с Сыном Божьим, имеют особое значение, как, например, католические реликварии, представленные ниже.

Наиболее Почитаемые Католические Реликварии: Крест Господень

Крест Господень (Животворящий Крест) является тем самым крестом, на котором, согласно христианским верованиям, понес жесткие мучения Иисус Христос. Это одна из главных чудотворных реликвий в мире. Легенда гласит, что царица Елена, мать римского императора Константина I, в 326 году нашла крест. Она приказала разрушить храм, построенный на месте распятия Мессии, и выкопать три креста – тот, на котором был распят Спаситель, и два других, на которых были повешены разбойники. По легенде, чтобы определить, на каком из крестов находился Иисус, все три принесли к неизлечимо больной женщине, которая выздоровела, как только коснулась Истинного Креста.

На протяжении всей истории своего существования, Крест Господень был разделен на множество частичек разного размера, которые теперь хранятся во многих храмах и монастырях по всему миру. Кроме того, этот глубоко почитаемый католический реликварий можно найти в одном из самых авторитетных магазинов реликвий – The Russian Store. Исследование, проведенное в XIX веке, показало, что общий вес всех зарегистрированных фрагментов Животворящего Креста составляет всего около 2 килограммов.

Наиболее Почитаемые Католические Реликварии: Вуаль Вероники

Вуаль Вероники или Плат Вероники (см. фото) – это волшебный образ Иисуса Христа, появившийся, по преданию, на лоскуте ткани, который святая Вероника дала Мессии, когда он нес свой крест на Голгофу. История этой христианской реликвии весьма неоднозначна, поскольку первое упоминание о ней было найдено только в средневековый период. В Средние века было создано множество копий вуали, пока в 1600 году Папа Климент VIII не издал запрет на ее воспроизведение.

Как гласит предание, оригинальная Вуаль Вероники хранится в Базилике Святого Петра в Риме. Она представляет собой тонкий кусок ткани, на котором слабо виднеется изображение лика Мессии. Несмотря на то, что остальные католические реликварии обладают ничуть не меньшей важностью, Ватикан считает Плат Вероники самым ценным из тех, что хранятся в Италии. В 1628 году Папа Урбан VIII издал запрет на публичное выставление священного предмета. С тех пор этот чудотворный лоскут ткани появляется на всеобщем обозрении только один раз в год – в Страстное Воскресенье. При этом демонстрация ограничена по времени, а саму вуаль показывают с высокой лоджии столпа Святой Вероники.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

The Most Revered Catholic Reliquaries in the World

The Most Revered Catholic Reliquaries in the World

For many centuries, faithful people have tried to find any objects related to the earthly life of Jesus Christ. It is not surprising, as many of them, according to the Christian tradition, have healing properties, hence the appearance of numerous online shops offering an abundant choice of religious artifacts for sale. Some of these holy items are of particular importance. Today, we will talk about two of the most worshipped Catholic reliquaries associated with the Son of God.

Most Venerated Catholic Reliquaries: The Holy Cross

The Holy Cross, or the Saint Cross, is the cross on which, according to Christian beliefs, Jesus Christ was crucified. It is one of the foremost miraculous relics. The legend says that Queen Helena, mother of the Roman Emperor Constantine I, found the cross in 326 AD. She ordered to destroy the temple built on the site of the Messiah’s crucifixion and to excavate three crosses – the one on which Savior was crucified, and two others on which the robbers were hanged. The legend holds that to determine on which of the crosses Jesus was nailed, all three of them were brought to a terminally ill woman who recovered as soon as she touched the Saint Cross.

Throughout the history of its existence, the Holy Cross was divided into numerous particles of different sizes, which are now preserved in plenty of temples and monasteries around the world. Besides, this deeply revered Catholic reliquary can be found at one of the most credible relics stores – The Russian Store. A study conducted in the 19th century showed that the total weight of all documented fragments of the Saint Cross is only about 2 kilograms.

The Veil of Veronica

The Veil of Veronica (pictured) is a miraculous image of Jesus Christ, which, according to the legend, appeared on the piece of cloth that Saint Veronica gave to Messiah when He carried His cross to Calvary. The history of this highly venerated piece of Catholic reliquaries is quite ambiguous since the first mention of it was found only in the medieval period. In the Middle Ages, many copies of the veil were created, until in 1600, Pope Clement VIII issued a ban on its replication.

As the tradition says, the original Veil of Veronica is kept in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. It represents a thin piece of cloth, on which the image of Messiah’s face is slightly visible. The Vatican calls the Veil of Veronica the most valuable of Catholic reliquaries kept in Italy. In 1628, Pope Urban VIII issued a ban on the public display of the holy item. Since then, this wonderworking object has been put on display only once a year – on Passion Sunday. Its demonstration is limited, and the veil is shown from the high loggia of the pillar of St. Veronica.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!