Религиозные Иконы Святого Иосифа Обручника

Religious Icons of Saint Joseph the Betrothed

Религиозные иконы, изображающие святого Иосифа Обручника, не столь популярны, как иконы некоторых других святых. Кроме того, они представлены целым рядом различных вариаций, которые трудно запомнить. Однако Иосиф все же является одним из самых полюбившихся святых среди православных, католических и англиканских верующих. Его фигура связана с различными праздниками, а сам Иосиф согласно католической традиции считается покровителем всех трудящихся. Ниже вы найдете интересную информацию о житии этого праведного человека и описание его икон.

Житие и родословная святого Иосифа

Как гласит легенда, святой Иосиф Обручник был родом из царской семьи Царя Давида, но был простым человеком, занимавшимся плотничеством в Назарете. Став вдовцом с семью детьми, он вел праведный образ жизни и был избран защищать Пресвятую Богородицу, давшую обет целомудрия.

В последний раз святой Иосиф упоминается, когда Иисусу исполнилось двенадцать лет и Он прибыл в Иерусалим. Дата смерти Иосифа неизвестна. Вероятно, он умер до того, как Иисус начал свое служение, в возрасте ста лет.

Религиозные иконы святого Иосифа

Religious Icons of Saint Joseph the Betrothed

Традиционно, святой Иосиф изображается как мужчина средних лет. Чаще всего он представлен на иконах, отображающих те евангельские события, свидетелем и участником которых он был. Это, прежде всего, иконы Рождества Христова. Однако во всех вариантах его фигура изображается в стороне от центральной части иконы, где находится Богородица, чтобы подчеркнуть его неучастие в зачатии Спасителя. Поза Иосифа обычно полна глубокого созерцания и смятения. Некоторые религиозные иконы изображают его вместе с Божественным Младенцем, когда Христос был принесен в Храм. Над плечом Иосифа можно увидеть город Иерусалим как символ Небесного дома.

Что касается символики, что представляют религиозные иконы святого Иосифа, существуют несколько довольно интересных примеров. На многих иконах Иосиф изображен искушаемым дьяволом, который предстает в виде старца с закрученными крыльями. Дьявол символизирует смятение Иосифа, охватившее его, когда он услышал о непорочном зачатии Христа в утробе Девы Марии.

Среди символов, окружающих фигуру Иосифа, можно встретить лилии, указывающие на чистоту и терпение этого праведника, а также ткань, покрывающую левую руку Иосифа, которая свидетельствует о его уважении ко Христу. 

Святой Иосиф высоко почитается в православной церкви за свою защиту Богородицы и Христа, а также за свою богослужебную жизнь. Оставайтесь с Русской Иконой, чтобы узнать больше о других святых и захватывающем мире религиозных икон!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Religious Icons of Saint Joseph the Betrothed

Religious Icons of Saint Joseph the Betrothed

Religious icons depicting Saint Joseph the Betrothed are not as popular as icons of some other saints. Besides, they come in a range of different variations that are hard to remember. However, Saint Joseph is still one of the most beloved saints among Orthodox, Catholic, and Anglican believers. The figure of Saint Joseph is associated with various feast days, and Joseph himself is regarded in the Catholic Church as the patron saint of all workers. Below you will find some information about the life of this righteous man and a description of his icons.

The lineage and life of Saint Joseph

As the legend says, Saint Joseph the Betrothed was of the royal lineage of King David, but he was a simple man engaged in carpentering in Nazareth. After becoming a widower with seven children, he led a righteous life and was chosen to protect the Most Holy Theotokos who had taken a vow of virginity.

Saint Joseph is last mentioned when Jesus entered Jerusalem at the age of twelve. The date of his death is unknown. Saint Joseph probably died before Jesus started His public ministry. At the time, he was one hundred years old.

Religious icons of Saint Joseph

Religious Icons of Saint Joseph the BetrothedTraditionally, Saint Joseph is portrayed as a middle-aged man. He is most often shown in icons representing those evangelical events to which he was a witness and participant. These are primarily the icons of the Nativity of Christ. In all variants, however, his figure is displayed aside from the central part of the icon where the Virgin is placed, thus emphasizing his non-participation in the Savior’s conception. Joseph’s pose is usually filled with intense contemplation and confusion. Some religious icons depict him along with the divine Baby when Christ was presented in the Temple. The city of Jerusalem is placed above Joseph’s shoulder as a symbol of the Heavenly Home.

Concerning the symbolism represented in the religious icons of Saint Joseph, there are some quite interesting examples. Many icons show Joseph being tempted by the Devil, who is depicted as an old man with furled wings. The Devil symbolizes the confusion that seized Joseph when he heard of the Immaculate Conception of Christ in the womb of the Virgin Mary.

Among the symbols that surround the figure of Joseph are lilies pointing to the purity and patience of this righteous man and a cloth covering his left hand, which indicates the respect toward Christ.

Saint Joseph is highly venerated in the Orthodox Church for his protection of the Virgin and Christ, as well as his devotional life. Stay with Russian Icon to learn more about other saints and the fascinating world of religious icons!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.