Икона «Воскрешение Лазаря» и Ее Удивительная История

The Miraculous Legend of the Raising of Lazarus Icon

Незначительно изменившись с течением времени, икона «Воскрешение Лазаря» все же лишена подробного толкования. Это связано с тем, что историю воскрешения Лазаря можно найти только в 11 главе Евангелия, названном «от Иоанна». Первые изображения этого предания появились на катакомбных росписях и рельефах саркофагов, отнесенных к раннехристианским святыням. Тема воскрешения Лазаря указывает на будущее всеобщее воскрешение всех людей, поэтому она часто появляется на захоронениях и в наши дни.

Икона «Воскрешение Лазаря» и ее легенда

Евангелие рассказывает о городе Вифания, где жил Лазарь и две его сестры Марфа и Мария. Однажды Лазарь тяжело заболел, и его сестры решили попросить помощи у Христа. Иисус прибыл на четвертый день после смерти Лазаря, который уже был похоронен в пещере. У сестер не было надежды на спасение. Вокруг пещеры стоял страшный запах смерти, означавший, что тело их любимого брата уже разлагалось. Однако Иисус велел убрать камень, закрывавший вход, посмотрел в пещеру и громко сказал: «Лазарь! Выходи!» И действительно, Лазарь явился из пещеры, обернутый льняными повязками подобно младенцу, а все присутствующие при чуде воскрешения склонились перед Христом.

Иконография «Воскрешения Лазаря»

С течением веков образ воскрешения на иконах Лазаря не претерпел значительных изменений. Раннехристианские памятники часто представляли это чудо в виде лаконичной, двухфигурной сцены. Иконографические типы изображения Христа в тот период только начали зарождаться. Христос изображался как вечно юный Бог. Часто в Его руке находилась легкая трость, как атрибут чудотворца. Со временем трость, которой Господь прикасается к Лазарю, стала коротким жезлом, а затем и вовсе исчезла как лишняя деталь. В конечном счете для совершения чуда Богу не нужен инструмент, достаточно Его собственной воли.

Традиционно икона «Воскрешение Лазаря» показывает Иисуса, стоящего возле пещеры. У Его ног находятся Марфа и Мария, а возле пещеры – иудеи, пришедшие посмотреть на чудо. Некоторые люди поблизости прикрывают носы платками. Воскресший Лазарь появляется из тьмы пещеры, которая символизирует смерть.

Эта религиозная история высоко почитается православными верующими, которые часто обращаются к иконам Лазаря, дабы укрепить свою веру. Считается, что икона «Воскрешение Лазаря», как и многие другие иконы с историей, способна исцелить душу и тело каждого, кто имеет Бога внутри.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

The Miraculous Legend of the Raising of Lazarus Icon

The Miraculous Legend of the Raising of Lazarus Icon

Having been changed only slightly over time, the Raising of Lazarus icon, however, lacks detailed interpretation. This is because the story of the Lazarus Resurrection can be found only in Chapter 11 of the Gospel called “of John.” The first depictions of this legend appeared in the catacomb paintings and reliefs of sarcophagi, attributed to early Christian sites. The theme of the Lazarus Raising points to a future general resurrection of all people, and, therefore, it often appears at burial sites even these days.

The legend behind the Raising of Lazarus icon

The Gospel tells about the town of Bethany, where Lazarus and his two sisters, Martha and Mary, lived. At one point, Lazarus got seriously ill, and his sisters decided to ask Jesus for help. The Son of the Lord arrived on the fourth day after the death of Lazarus, who was already buried in the cave. There was no hope of salvation for the sisters. A terrible scent of death stood near the cave, meaning that the body of their beloved brother was already decaying. Nevertheless, Jesus commanded to take away the stone obstructing the entrance, looked into the cave, and said loudly, “Lazarus! Come forth!” And indeed, Lazarus appeared from the cave, wrapped with linen strips like a baby, and those present at the miracle of Resurrection leaned down before Christ.

The iconography of the Raising of Lazarus

With centuries, the image of the Resurrection in the Lazarus icon has not significantly changed. Early Christian monuments often presented this miracle as a brief, double-figure scene. The iconographic types of the image of Christ just began to take shape in that period. Jesus was portrayed as the eternally young God. He was often depicted with a light cane as an attribute of the wonderworker in His hand. In course of time, the cane, with which the Lord touched Lazarus, became a short rod and later completely disappeared as an extra detail. After all, to perform a miracle God does not need a tool; His own will is enough.

Traditionally, in the Lazarus icon, Jesus is depicted next to the cave, with Martha and Mary at His feet. Jews who came to see the miracle are shown near the cave. Some people cover their noses with handkerchiefs. The resurrected Lazarus appears from the darkness of the cave that symbolizes death.

This religious story is highly revered by Orthodox believers who often turn to Lazarus icons to strengthen their faith. His icons, as well as many others with a great story behind, are believed to heal the soul and body of everyone who has God inside.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.