Русские Православные Иконы Преподобного Серафима Саровского

Russian Orthodox Icons of Saint Seraphim of Sarov

2 января все православные христиане с радостью отмечают праздник Серафима Саровского. Он считается самым великим и почитаемым среди святых старцев XIX века. «Стяжи дух мирен и тысячи вокруг тебя спасутся» – известное высказывание святого Серафима, которое отражает православную истину о единственно верном пути жизни – праведном. Так почему же этот русский подвижник считается одним из самых почитаемых святых, и как русские православные иконы отображают его образ?

Ученик Божией Матери

Названный Прохором, преподобный Серафим родился в городе Курске на западе России в 1754 году. Будучи больным ребенком, он получил видение от Богородицы, которая обещала исцелить его. Вскоре после этого чудотворная Курская Коренная икона Божией Матери, которая была частью религиозной процессии в Курске, вылечила мальчика. Жизнь святого Серафима была полна преданности Церкви, молений в дикой глуши и аскетизма. Он считается чудотворцем за многие знамения и чудеса, которые он видел и творил в своей жизни. За свои дела и исцеления преподобного Серафима называют учеником Божией Матери.

Жизнь в уединении

25 лет святой Cерафим Саровский жил один в глуши. После нападения группы воров, которые оставили его умирать, он получил видение от Девы Марии. Богородица велела ему вести уединенную жизнь и поучать других. После выздоровления святой Серафим начал принимать посетителей как исповедник, предлагая им духовную помощь и исцеление. В возрасте 74 лет Серафим Саровский скончался в молитве перед иконой Божией Матери Умиление (Елеуса).

Русские православные иконы преподобного Серафима

Русские православные иконы преподобного Серафима можно найти в каждой русской церкви и монастыре. Одна из самых почитаемых икон Серафима Саровского хранится в Даниловом монастыре в Москве вместе с его четками, частью мантии святого и частью камня, на котором он молился в течение тысячи дней.

На православных иконах преподобный Серафим обычно изображается как покорный монах, часто с молитвенными четками в руке. Его образ полон преданности молитве и аскетической жизни в глуши. Иногда святого изображают рядом с животными.

Считается, что русские православные иконы Серафима Саровского помогают исцелить как физическое тело, так и душу. Кроме того, они являются надежной защитой от тяжелых мыслей, депрессии и отчаяния, которое, по мнению святого старца, является тяжким грехом.

Теперь вы знаете больше о Серафиме Саровском, его жизни и иконах. Не пропустите наши новые посты с интересными историями о православных святых!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Russian Orthodox Icons of Saint Seraphim of Sarov

Russian Orthodox Icons of Saint Seraphim of Sarov

All the Orthodox faithful gladly celebrate the feast of Seraphim of Sarov on January 2. He is generally considered one of the greatest and most venerated 19th-century holy elders. “Acquire a peaceful spirit, and around you thousands will be saved” is the best-known saying of Saint Seraphim, which reflects the common Orthodox belief that being faithful is the only right way to live. So why is this Russian ascetic one of the most beloved saints, and how is he depicted in Russian Orthodox icons?

The disciple of the Mother of God

Originally called Prokhor, St. Seraphim was born in the city of Kursk in western Russia in 1754. Being a sick child, he had a vision of the Virgin who promised to heal him. Soon after that, the wonderworking Kursk Root Icon of the Sign, which was part of a religious procession in Kursk, healed the boy. St. Seraphim’s life was full of dedication to Church, prayers in the wilderness, and asceticism. He is considered a wonder-worker for the many signs and wonders he saw and performed in his life. For his deeds and healings, St. Seraphim is called the Disciple of the Mother of God.

Life in solitude

For 25 years, Saint Seraphim of Sarov lived alone in the wilderness. After being attacked by a band of thieves who left him to die, he saw a vision from the Virgin. The Theotokos told him to live his life in solitude and teach others. After recovery, Saint Seraphim began admitting visitors as a confessor, offering them spiritual guidance and healing. At the age of 74, Seraphim of Sarov died in prayer before an Eleusa icon of the Theotokos.

Russian Orthodox icons of Saint Seraphim

Icons of Saint Seraphim can be found in every Russian church and monastery. One of the most revered Russian Orthodox icons of Seraphim of Sarov is kept in the Danilov Monastery in Moscow, along with his rosary, a piece of the saint’s robe, and part of the stone on which he prayed for a thousand days.

In Orthodox icons, Saint Seraphim is usually depicted as a humble monk, often holding a prayer rope. His image is full devotion to prayer and ascetic life in the wilderness. Sometimes, he is depicted with animals next to him.

It is believed that Russian Orthodox icons of Seraphim of Sarov help heal both the physical body and the soul. Besides, they are reliable protection from heavy thoughts, depression, and despair that is, according to the holy elder, a grave sin.

Now you know more about Saint Seraphim of Sarov, the life, and his icons. Do not miss our new blog posts with interesting stories about Orthodox saints!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.