Святые Апостолы на Православных Иконах. Часть II

Holy Apostles in Orthodox Icons. Part III

В нашей предыдущей статье мы писали об основных характеристиках, которые могут помочь вам распознать святых апостолов на восточно-православных иконах. В продолжение этой темы, предлагаем вашему вниманию особенности изображения других апостолов:

Святой Иаков Зеведеев

Св. Иакова, сына Зеведея и Саломии, также называют Иаковом Старшим, чтобы отличить его от Иакова, сына Алфея. Он был братом святого Иоанна и первым апостолом, которого казнили. По этой причине на христианских религиозных иконах святых он всегда изображается как молодой человек с каштановыми волосами средней длины и короткой бородой. Хотя Иакова Старшого достаточно трудно обнаружить с первого взгляда, его практически всегда можно найти стоящим рядом с курчавым Петром и молодым Иоанном на православной иконе Преображения.

Святой Фома

Св. Фому также называют Дидымус, что означает «близнец», или Фома Неверующий, потому что он сомневался в воскресении Иисуса Христа, когда впервые услышал об этом. На религиозных иконах святых его обычно изображают как молодого безбородого мужчину, как бы намекая на то, что его изначальные сомнения были вызваны молодостью. Кроме того, Св. Фому часто показывают со свитком в руках, который свидетельствует о его апостольском чине, или со словами «Господь мой и Бог мой!», произнесенными им, когда он уверовал в воскресение Христа. Это, кстати, является величайшим исповеданием веры, записанным где-либо в Библии, так как Св. Фома был первым апостолом, который произнес вслух, что Иисус Христос – Господь и Бог одновременно.

Святой Варфоломей

Св. Варфоломей, также известный как Нафанаил, был одним из двенадцати апостолов Иисуса Христа, который говорил о нем: «Вот подлинно Израильтянин, в котором нет лукавства». Внешность этого святого апостола, изображенная на многих религиозных иконах, основывается на снах и видениях ряда людей, которым являлся Св. Варфоломей после своей мученической смерти. Таким образом, православные иконы обычно показывают его как коротковолосого и короткобородого человека среднего возраста со свитком апостола.

Святой Андрей

Св. Андрей был старшим братом Св. Петра и христианским апостолом, известным как Андрей Первозванный. Он, вероятно, самый узнаваемый на религиозных иконах апостол благодаря его длинным неопрятным седым волосам и бороде. Такая внешность на самом деле вызвана тем, что Св. Андрей был прежде учеником Св. Иоанна Крестителя. На иконах он обычно изображается его пожилой человек, держащий небольшой свиток или Евангелие, указывающее на него как на проповедника.

Святой Матфей

На восточно-православных иконах Св. Матфей, которого также называют Левий Матфей, обычно держит большую книгу, указывающую на то, что он является одним из четырех евангелистов. Кроме того, религиозные иконы с библейскими сюжетами, а также иконы святых, изображают его с коротко подстриженными волосами и длинной белой волнистой бородой. Св. Матфея можно также узнать по изображению крылатого человека, который является символом его Евангелия.

Следите за нашими обновлениями, чтобы узнать больше об основных отличительных чертах святых апостолов, которые помогут вам распознать их на православных иконах!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Holy Apostles in Orthodox Icons. Part III

Holy Apostles in Orthodox Icons. Part II

In our previous article, we wrote about the main features that can help you recognize Holy Apostles depicted in Eastern Orthodox Church icons. Here we are bringing some more useful information on this topic.

St. James, Son of Zebedee

St. James, a son of Zebedee and Salome, is also called James the Great or James the Greater to distinguish him from St. James, son of Alphaeus. He was the brother of St. John and the first Apostle to be martyred. For this reason, in Christian religious icons of saints, he is always depicted as a young man with medium length brown hair and a short beard. Although James the Greater is not always recognizable by sight, you can identify him standing next to the curly-haired Peter and young John in the Orthodox icon of the Transfiguration.

St. Thomas

St. Thomas is also called Didymus meaning “the twin” or “Doubting Thomas” because he doubted about the resurrection of Jesus Christ when first told. In famous religious icons of saints, he is usually depicted as a young beardless man, as if alluding to the fact that his initial doubts were caused by his youthfulness. Besides, in Eastern Orthodox icons, St. Thomas can be shown with the scroll, which denotes his rank of Apostle, or with his “My Lord and my God” confession of faith in hands. By the way, it is the greatest confession of faith recorded anywhere in the Bible, as St. Thomas is the first Apostle to put into words that Jesus Christ is both Lord and God.

St. Bartholomew

St. Bartholomew, also known as Nathanael or Nathaniel, was one of the Twelve Apostles of Jesus Christ who called him an “Israelite…incapable of deceit.” The appearance of this holy Apostle, which we see in famous religious icons, is based on dreams and visions of a number of people, to whom St. Bartholomew appeared after his martyrdom. Thus, Orthodox icons usually depict him as a middle-aged short haired and short bearded man with the scroll of an Apostle.

St. Andrew

St. Andrew was the elder brother of St. Peter and a Christian Apostle known as the First-called. He is probably the most recognizable in religious icons Apostle thanks to his long, unkempt, white hair and beard. Such an appearance is actually caused by the fact that St. Andrew was formerly a disciple of St. John the Baptist. Holy icons of saints usually depict him as an old man holding a small scroll or the Gospel Book to identify him as a preacher.

St. Matthew

In Eastern Orthodox Church icons, St. Matthew, who is also called Levi, usually holds a large Book that shows that he is one of the four Evangelists. Moreover, famous religious icons with Biblical scenes, as well as portrait icons of saints, depict him with close-cropped hair and a long white wavy beard. In addition, St. Matthew can also be shown with a winged man, the symbol of his Gospel.

Stay with us to learn more about the main distinguishing features of Holy Apostles that will help you recognize them in Orthodox icons!

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!