Предметы Одежды и Их Значение в Иконографии Христа

Православные иконы говорят громче слов. Вам просто нужно знать, куда смотреть. Это знание поможет вам осознать, что каждая, даже самая маленькая деталь, изображенная на иконе, очень важна. Мы уже ранее писали о значении цветов, различных жестах и многих других символах, используемых в написании восточно-православных икон. Однако есть еще одна вещь, о которой вам следует знать, если вы хотите понять эти прекрасные произведения религиозного искусства. Речь идет о предметах одежды и их значении. Как пример давайте рассмотрим иконы Христа.

Иисус Христос традиционно показан в тех же одеждах, которые носили самые высокие сановники Римской империи: длинной тунике или хитоне в качестве нижней одежды и гиматие в качестве верхней одежды. На самом деле многие фигуры, изображенные на религиозных иконах, носят туники и гиматии, но одежда Спасителя имеет некоторые отличительные черты.

Прежде всего, туника Иисуса Христа имеет клав – нашивную вертикальную полосу, которая была символом имперской власти. В восточно-православной иконографии он означает чистоту и совершенство человеческой природы Христа. Кроме того, туника обычно изображается красным цветом, а гиматий – синим (голубым). Эти два цвета символизируют человеческую и божественную природы Христа соответственно. Синий означает небо и вечный мир, напоминая нам о Небесах. Красный – это цвет крови, который показывает спасительную природу воскресения. Помимо этого, красная туника является символом царственной особы.

«Спас в Силах» Андрей Рублев

Спаситель также может быть изображен в золотых одеждах, чтобы подчеркнуть Его божественные свойства, как, например, на иконе Андрея Рублева «Спас в Силах». Золотая одежда в данном случае напоминает нам о существующем извечно свете Самого Бога. То же самое относится и к белым одеждам, таким как на иконах Преображения Господня, которые написаны в соответствии с описанием этого важного события в Евангелие: «Одежды Его сделались блистающими, весьма белыми, как снег, как на земле белильщик не может выбелить» (Мк. 9:3).

Как вы можете видеть, иконы Христа наполнены символами, которые рассказывают нам историю Спасителя и учат истинам православной веры без слов. Каждая деталь или цвет используется с определенной целью и является куда более важной составляющей, чем кажется на первый взгляд. Неудивительно, что рукописные православные иконы считаются Евангелием в красках.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Icon of Christ Pantocrator – An Ancient Image of Christ

Garments and Their Meaning in the Orthodox Icons of Christ

Orthodox icons speak louder than words. You just need to know where to look. This knowledge will show you that every little detail depicted in the religious icon is important. We have already written about the meaning of colors, different hand gestures, and many other symbols used in painting Eastern Orthodox icons. However, there is one more thing you should know about if you want to understand these beautiful creations of religious art. We are talking about garments and their meaning. As an example, let’s look at the icons of Christ.

Jesus Christ is traditionally shown in the same garments worn by the highest dignitaries of the Roman Empire: a long tunic as His inner garment and a mantle as His outer garment. In fact, many figures depicted in religious icons wear tunics and mantles, but the Savior’s attire has some distinctive features.

First of all, the tunic worn by Jesus Christ is distinguished by a vertical stripe called a clavus, which was a symbol of the imperial power. In Eastern Orthodox iconography, it means the purity and perfection of the human nature of Christ. In addition, the tunic is usually depicted in red, while the mantle is in blue. These two colors symbolize the human and the divine natures of Christ respectively. Blue stands for the sky and everlasting world, reminding us of Heaven. Red is the color of blood that shows the saving nature of the resurrection. Besides, a red tunic is also a symbol of royalty.

“Christ Enthroned in Glory” by Andrei Rublev

The Savior can also be clothed in gold garments to emphasize His divine properties, for example in the icon “Christ Enthroned in Glory” by Andrei Rublev. Gold garments in such a case remind us of the uncreated light of God Himself. The same applies to white garments, like those depicted in the Transfiguration icons of Christ that are painted according to the Gospel’s description of this important event, “And his clothes became radiant, intensely white, as no one on earth could bleach them” (Mark 9:3).

As you can see, icons of Christ are full of symbols that tell us the story of the Savior and teach the truths of Orthodoxy without words. Every detail or color is used for a specific purpose, being much more important than it seems at first glance. No wonder, hand-painted Orthodox icons are considered to be the Gospel in paint.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!