Радостная Икона Вознесения Господня

A Joyous Icon of the Ascension of Our Lord

Праздник Вознесения Господня имеет большое значение для христианской церкви. Икона Вознесения в свою очередь призвана не только отобразить сам библейский сюжет этого события, но и раскрыть глубинный смысл праздника Вознесения Господа Бога. Впервые появившаяся много веков назад, данная религиозная икона едва ли изменилась за долгие годы. Изображение Бога, вознесенного на небо и сидящего на освященном престоле, выражает бесконечную славу и умиротворение. Именно поэтому икону принято называть «радостной», имея в виду, что Иисус вот-вот покинет пределы земного мира и вернется в Свой Небесный Дом. 

Небесный покой и земное смятение

Икона отображает два центра: вознесшегося Бога и Его Матерь Марию. Христос, окруженный мандорлой, держит в руке свиток и благословляет всех верующих. Яркие золотистые облачения Христа и светящийся шар позади Него подчеркивают благодать и величественную славу, что несет в себе икона Вознесения Господня. Образы ангелов также выделяются на фоне золотых небес.

Богоматерь расположена непосредственно под Христом, поднимая к Нему руки. Она мирно взирает и, кажется, понимает таинственное благословение своего Воскресшего Сына. Окружающие ее апостолы, напротив, предстают в хаосе и устремляют свой взор на небо, не понимая всей сущности события. Ангелы сказали ученикам: «Мужи Галилейские! Что вы стоите и смотрите на небо? Сей Иисус, вознесшийся от вас на небо, придет таким же образом, как вы видели Его восходящим на небо» (Деян. 1, 10–11). Апостолы еще не понимают значения этих слов, в отличие от Марии, которая изображена в нижней части иконы с чудесным нимбом над головой, выражающим Божью благодать.

Икона Вознесения и символ Церкви

Икона Вознесения Господня никогда не рассматривалась в православии как достоверная, точная иллюстрация текста Священного Писания. Она достаточно антиисторическая. Несмотря на отсутствие в новозаветных повествованиях Богородицы, иконография этого праздника всегда изображает ее в самом центре сцены. Помимо этого, на иконе среди учеников изображен и апостол Павел, хотя на момент этого чудесного события он все еще не уверовал в Бога.

Образ Вознесения – это символ Новозаветной Апостольской церкви, основанной Христом и распространившейся по всей земле благодаря проповедям апостолов и их преемников. Поэтому такие личности, как Мария и апостол Павел, становятся свидетелями этого события и подчеркивают значение всей христианской церкви.

Эта величественная икона выражает Божью власть над Церковью, Его наставление и силу.  Однако главный смысл иконы передается через великую славу Вознесенного Господа Бога, которая вдохновляет всех православных верующих.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

A Joyous Icon of the Ascension of Our Lord

A Joyous Icon of the Ascension of Our Lord

The Feast of Ascension has great importance to the Christian Church. The icon of the Ascension, in its turn, has the aim not only to directly show the biblical story of this event but also to reveal the profound meaning of the Ascension of Our Lord. First appeared many centuries ago, this religious icon has barely changed over the years. The depiction of God, ascended into Heaven and sitting on the throne of light, expresses endless glory and peace. That is why the icon is usually called “joyous,” meaning that Jesus is about to leave the limitations of earthly time and return to His Heavenly Home. 

Heavenly peace and earthly confusion

The icon represents two centers: ascended God and His Mother Mary. Christ, who is enclosed into mandorla, holds a scroll in His hand and blesses all the faithful. Bright golden robes of Christ and a globe of light behind Him accentuate the grace and stately glory of the icon of the Ascension. The images of angels also stand out against the golden heavens.

The Theotokos is placed right below Christ, raising her hands toward Him. She has a peaceful look and appears to understand the mysterious blessing of her Resurrected Son. On the contrary, the apostles around her are shown in chaos, gazing at heaven without understanding the whole essence of the event. The angels said to the disciples, “Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven? This same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen Him go into heaven” (Acts 1:11). The apostles do not understand the meaning of the words yet, unlike Mary, who is depicted in the lower part of the icon with a beautiful halo signifying the grace of God.

The symbol of the Church in the icon of the Ascension

The icon of the Ascension has never been understood in Orthodoxy as an accurate, formal illustration of the text of Holy Scripture. It is quite ahistorical. The iconography of this Feast always portrays the Theotokos at the center of the scene despite her absence in the New Testament accounts. Besides, Paul the Apostle is also depicted among the disciples, even though he did not yet believe in God at the time of the miraculous event.

The image of the Ascension is a symbol of the New Testament Apostolic Church founded by Christ and spread throughout the world through the preaching of the apostles and their successors. Therefore, such figures as Mary and Paul the Apostle are witnesses of this event and emphasize the meaning of the whole Christian Church.

This majestic icon expresses the sovereignty of God over the Church, who is its guide and power. However, the main sense of the icon is rendered through the great glory of the ascended God, which inspires all Orthodox Christian believers.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!