Самые Почитаемые Русские Иконы Святых

Most Venerated Russian Icons of Saints

Если вы не знакомы с христианскими учениями и православными святыми в частности, определить, кто именно изображен на русских иконах святых, довольно сложно. Дело в том, что существуют сотни пророков, монахов, мучеников и архиепископов, и узнать каждого из них можно лишь в том случае, если вам хорошо знаком древний церковнославянский язык. Более того, в то время как некоторые святые, изображенные на православных иконах, известны во всем мире (например, Св. Николай, Св. Марк или Св. Георгий), другие почитаются только среди небольших общин. Ниже предложен список икон, включающий в себя некоторых из самых любимых святых в России, о которых вы, возможно, еще не знаете.

Икона святого великомученика и целителя Пантелеймона

Рожденный в древнем греко-римском городе Никомидия, Пантелеймон (см. фото выше) был раннехристианским святым целителем, убитым императором Максимианом около 305 года н.э. Святыня с главой святого великомученика Пантелеймона в настоящий момент хранится в монастыре на Афоне, в то время как многие другие частицы его мощей можно найти по всей России. День памяти этого святого отмечается 27 июля (9 августа).

Икона святителя Спиридона Тримифунтского

Рожденный в деревне Аския, что на острове Кипр, около 270 года н.э., святитель Спиридон Тримифунтский был епископом IV века, который в течение своей жизни совершил множество чудес. На сегодняшний день русские иконы, изображающие этого святого, считаются чудотворными и имеют свой собственный день памяти. Почитают святителя Спиридона Тримифунтского 12 (25) декабря.

Icon of St. Spyridon Bishop of Trimythous

Икона святителя Дмитрия Ростовского

Рожденный в украинской казачьей семье в 1651 году, святитель Дмитрий Ростовский был великим митрополитом, аскетом, проповедником и автором XVII века, известным многими своими работами. Русские иконы этого святого высоко почитаются и ценятся всеми православными верующими, во многом благодаря его чудотворным мощам, обнаруженным в 1752 году. День памяти жизни святителя Дмитрия Ростовского отмечается 28 октября.

St. Dimitry of Rostov

Икона святителя Василия Великого

Еще один достойный пример самых почитаемых русских икон святых – это икона святителя Василия Великого. Рожденный в Кесарии Каппадокийской около 330 года н.э., святитель Василий Великий был ведущим церковным деятелем в IV веке и одним из трех Отцов Церкви. Его память отмечается 1 (14) января и 30 января (12 февраля).

Icon of St. Basil the Great

Вышеупомянутые русские иконы святых – лишь некоторые из многих, почитаемых в бывших советских республиках. Оставайтесь с нами, чтобы больше узнать о других религиозных иконах и их роли в современной жизни.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Most Venerated Russian Icons of Saints

Most Venerated Russian Icons of Saints

If you are not familiar with Christian teachings and Orthodox saints in particular, to identify figures depicted in the Russian icons of saints is quite a big challenge. The fact is that there are hundreds of prophets, monastics, martyrs, and hierarchs, and to recognize all of them is possible only in case you are literate in Old Church Slavonic. Moreover, while some saints depicted in the Orthodox icons are known throughout the world (e.g. St. Nicholas, St. Mark, or St. George); others are venerated by only small communities. The following list of religious icons includes some of the most beloved saints in Russia, whom you might not know about.

Icon of the Holy Great Martyr and Healer Panteleimon

Born in an ancient Greco-Roman metropolis Nicomedia, Panteleimon (see photo above) was an early century healing saint martyred by Emperor Maximian circa 305 A.D. The shrine with the honorable head of the Holy Great Martyr Panteleimon is currently kept in the monastery of Mount Athos, while many other his relics can be found across Russia. This saint is commemorated on July 27 (August 9).

Icon of St. Spyridon Bishop of Trimythous

Born in the village of Ashia in Cyprus circa 270 A.D., St. Spyridon of Trimythous was a 4th-century bishop who worked many miracles during his life. For today, Russian icons depicting this saint are considered wonder-working and have their own feast day. St. Spyridon of Trimythous is commemorated on December 12 (25).

Icon of St. Spyridon Bishop of Trimythous

Icon of St. Dimitry of Rostov

Born in a Cossack family in Ukraine in 1651, St. Dimitry of Rostov was a great 17th-century hierarch, ascetic, preacher, and author known for many written works. Russian icons of this saint are highly venerated and treasured by all Orthodox Christian believers largely due to his miracle-working relics uncovered in 1752. The life of St. Dimitry of Rostov is commemorated on October 28.

St. Dimitry of Rostov

Icon of St. Basil the Great

One more worthy example of the most venerated Russian icons of saints is the icon of St. Basil the Great. Born circa 330 A.D. in Caesarea in Cappadocia, St. Basil the Great was a leading churchman in the 4th century and one of the Three Holy Hierarchs. He is commemorated on January 1 (14) and on January 30 (February 12).

Icon of St. Basil the Great

The above Russian icons of saints are only a few of many venerated in the former Soviet Republics. Stay with us to learn more about other religious icons and their role in modern life.

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!