Икона в Русском Православии и Ее Значение

The Meaning of Icon in Russian Orthodoxy

Невозможно представить себе русскую церковь или монастырь без иконы. Почитание религиозных икон в Киевской Руси началось сразу после ее обращения в православие в 988 году, но полный расцвет русской иконописи пришелся на ХIV – XV век. Являясь ключевым компонентом русского культурного наследия, икона на протяжении веков несет в себе все духовные ценности, принципы и мировоззрение людей. Более того, икона в русском православии означает возможность выразить веру и духовный мир человека.

Икона в русском православии и ее значение 

Окно в Небесный Мир

В отличие от неправославных конфессий, религиозная икона в русском православии считается окном в Небесный Мир. На икону следует смотреть не как на произведение искусства со всеми его эстетическими особенностями и достоинствами, а как на проявление Святого Духа. Именно такое благоговейное отношение к иконе отличает православные традиции от других.

На различные принципы почитания икон в православном и западном мире указывают и художественные стили их написания. Западный стиль отражает реалистический образ определенного святого или библейского события, в то время как православные иконы изображают священный мир через святой образ, а не через человеческое лицо. Узреть святость можно только своим духовным сердцем. Деревянное полотно иконы способно физически разрушиться, в то время как священный образ является нетленным для каждого православного верующего. Таким образом, икона в русском православии – не просто часть церковного убранства, а священное окно в Небесный Дом.

Священный оберег народа

В России ни одно явление в искусстве не имеет такой всеобъемлющей ценности, как икона, и ни один другой вид искусства не внес столь выдающегося вклада в церковь, государство и повседневную жизнь, как иконопись. Русский народ привык считать икону духовным оберегом, помогающим избежать угроз и катастроф. Люди обращаются к иконам во всех случаях жизни: пожарах, засухах, болезнях, эпидемиях и так далее. Считается, что иконы могут защитить человека. Такое почитаемое отношение доказывает глубокое значение иконы в России.

Русские иконы – это не просто форма религиозного искусства, которой пользуется Церковь. Они олицетворяют истинную веру и святость, побуждая людей проявлять свою глубокую преданность.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

The Meaning of Icon in Russian Orthodoxy

The Meaning of Icon in Russian Orthodoxy

One cannot imagine a Russian church or monastery without an icon. The veneration of religious icons entered Kievan Rus’ right after its conversion to Orthodox Christianity in 988, but the flourishing of Russian iconography came to full bloom in the 14th-15th century. Being the key component of the Russian cultural legacy, an icon has been carrying all the spiritual values, principles, and mindset of people through the centuries. Moreover, the significance of icon in Russian Orthodoxy lies in the ability to express the faith and spiritual world of an individual.

The meaning of icon in Russian Orthodoxy

A window to the Heavenly World

Unlike non-Orthodox churches, a religious icon in Russian Orthodoxy is considered a window to the Heavenly World. One should not look at an icon as a work of art bearing certain aesthetic features and merits but as a manifestation of the Holy Spirit. It is a special devout attitude to the icon, which sets Orthodox traditions apart from others.

The different principles of icon veneration between the Orthodox and Western worlds are also indicated by the different artistic styles of painting. Western style reflects the realistic image of a certain holy figure or biblical event, while Orthodox icons render the sacred world through the holy image but not the human-like face. You can behold the holiness only with your spiritual heart. The wooden panel of the icon can be physically broken, while the sacred image is incorruptible to every Orthodox believer. Thus, the icon in Russian Orthodoxy is not just part of the church decoration, but a holy window to the Heavenly Home. 

A sacred guard of the people

In Russia, no phenomenon in art has such an all-encompassing value as an icon, and no other kind of art has made such an outstanding contribution to the church, state, and daily life as the iconography. Russian people are used to considering an icon as a spiritual guard assisting to avoid threats and disasters. They turn to the icons on all occasions, from fires and drought to diseases and epidemics. It is believed that icons can protect people. Such a revered attitude proves the profound meaning of an icon in Russia.

Russian icons are much more than simply a form of religious art used by the Church. They represent true faith and holiness, encouraging people to show their deep devotion.

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.