Значение Предметов в Руках Святых

St John the Warrior

Восточно-православная иконография со всеми ее стилями и темами – очень красивый и памятный способ приобщения к вере. Кроме того, она также полна сакральных символов, которые вы, возможно, не замечали раньше. Однако если вы собираетесь приобрести религиозные иконы для своего дома или коллекции произведений искусства, вы должны знать хотя бы о некоторых из них. Присмотритесь к святым, изображенным на иконах, и вы увидите, что многие из них держат в руках определенные предметы. Эти предметы могут помочь вам распознать изображенные фигуры, а также многое рассказать об их жизни и смерти. Итак, давайте рассмотрим наиболее важные предметы, которые святые держат в руках на православных иконах!

Крест

Святые, убитые за исповедание христианской веры, обычно изображаются на религиозных иконах с крестом. Поэтому этот предмет, ставший символом христианства, предназначен для обозначения святого мученика. Кроме того, в память о распятии и смерти Христа такие православные иконы святых также символизируют самопожертвование ради других людей.

Евангелие

Евангелие на религиозных иконах показано как главный инструмент причисленных к лику святых епископов, которые используют его для провозглашения Благой Вести о пришествии Царства Божьего. Таким образом, этот предмет обычно изображается в руках святых апостолов, особенно Павла, который проповедовал христианство в первом веке.

Свиток

Свиток на восточно-православных иконах означает, что изображенные святые были известны не только тем, что передавали божественное знание другим, но и своей способностью к восприятию и пророчеству. Этот предмет предназначен для обозначения Богом данной мудрости. Поэтому, если вы видите на религиозной иконе свиток, скорее всего, изображенный на ней человек является одним из апостолов или ветхозаветным пророком.

Оружие

Оружие на священных изображениях (например, мечи, щиты или копья) означает, что изображенный человек, скорее всего, был воином-мучеником, убитым из-за его обращения в христианство. Более того, эти святые, которых также называют «воинами для Христа», могут быть изображены в броне, что делает их легко узнаваемыми среди других. Помимо оружия, воины-мученики, изображенные на религиозных иконах, также могут держать в руках крест как символ своей жертвы.

Посох

Посох на православных иконах свидетельствует о том, что изображенная фигура является пастухом или пастором Божьей паствы. Хотя этот предмет обычно указывает на епископа, аббата или аббатису, он также может быть изображен в руках тех, чье духовное лидерство не вызывает сомнений (например, Святая Блаженная Ксения Петербургская). Интересным фактом является то, что посох, изображенный на восточно-православных иконах, обычно имеет ту же форму, что и греческая буква Тау, символизируя тем самым воскресение и жизнь.

Это основные предметы, которые можно увидеть в руках святых, изображенных на религиозных иконах. Однако, кроме упомянутых выше, святые также могут быть показаны с некоторыми другими предметами, такими как небольшой храм, который указывает на то, что изображенный человек участвовал в строительстве определенной церкви или храма. Таким образом, каждый предмет в восточно-православной иконографии имеет свое значение. Поэтому, если вы не уверены в том, что именно изображено на религиозной иконе, которую вы хотите купить, лучше обратиться к профессионалам за помощью!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Objects Held by Saints in Religious Icons and Their Meaning

Objects Held by Saints in Religious Icons and Their Meaning

Eastern Orthodox iconography with all its styles of painting and depicted themes is a very beautiful and memorable way of communicating the faith. Moreover, it is also full of sacred symbolism you may not have noticed before. However, if you are going to buy religious icons for your home or art collection, you should know at least about some of them. Just take a closer look at the icons of saints, and you will see that most saints are holding some objects in their hands. These objects can actually help you recognize the depicted figures, as well as tell you much about their lives and death. So let’s make a list of the most important objects held by saints in Orthodox Christian icons!

Cross

Saints murdered for confessing faith in Jesus Christ are usually depicted in religious icons with a cross. Therefore, this object that has become a symbol of Christianity is intended to indicate a Holy Martyr. Moreover, in remembrance of Christ’s crucifixion and death, such Orthodox icons of saints also symbolize the sacrifice of life for others.

Gospel Book

The Gospel Book is shown in religious icons as the main tool of sainted bishops who use it for proclaiming the Good News of the coming of the Kingdom of God. Thus, this object is usually depicted in the hands of Holy Apostles, especially Paul, who taught Christ’s Gospel to the faithful in the first century.

Scroll

The scroll depicted in Eastern Orthodox icons of saints means that these holy persons were known not only for imparting divine knowledge to others but also for percipience and prophecy. This object is actually intended to indicate the wisdom given from God. Therefore, if you see the scroll in the religious icon, most likely the depicted person is one of the Apostles or the Old Testament prophet.

Weapons

Weapons in holy icons (for example, swords, shields, or lances) mean that the depicted person is most likely a soldier-martyr murdered because of his conversion to Christianity. Furthermore, these saints, who are also called “soldiers for Christ,” can even be garbed in full armor, which makes them easily recognizable among others. By the way, in addition to weapons, soldier-martyrs depicted in religious icons usually hold a сross in their hands as a symbol of their sacrifice.

Crosier

The crosier in the Orthodox Christianity icons tells us that the depicted figure is a shepherd or pastor of God’s flock. Although this object usually indicates a bishop, abbot, or abbess, it can also be shown in the hands of those, whose spiritual authority is not in doubt (for example, Saint Blessed Xenia of St. Petersburg). It’s interesting that the crosier depicted in Eastern Orthodox icons usually has the same shape as the Greek letter Tau, thereby symbolizing resurrection and life.

These are the main objects held by saints in religious icons. However, except for the mentioned above, holy figures can also be depicted with some other objects, like a small church building that indicates saints remembered for the “church-building.” Thus, each object has its own meaning in Eastern Orthodox iconography; so if you are not sure in what exactly is depicted in the religious icon you want to buy, it’s better to ask professionals for help!

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!