Как Очистить Православную Икону Дома?

Будь то старинные русские иконы, греческие иконы, византийские религиозные иконы, коптские иконы или любые другие православные иконы – на практическом и теологическом уровне все они одинаковы. Даже несмотря на то, что они отличаются друг от друга, каждая из них по-прежнему представляет собой определенные концепции и идеи, которые являются уникальными для христианства. Кроме того, рукописные православные иконы – это не только священные изображения, почитаемые верующими христианами, но и удивительные памятники иконописного искусства. Именно поэтому так много людей по всему миру, включая тех, кто не являются христианами или даже религиозными, коллекционируют православные иконы и артефакты.

Если вы счастливый обладатель старой русской иконы или любой другой религиозной иконы, то, скорее всего, вы хотите знать, как сохранить ее для будущих поколений. Начните с ее очистки! Воспользуйтесь следующим простым руководством о том, как сделать это дома:

  • Избавьтесь от пыли. Используйте перьевую метелку или широкую кисть из беличьего волоса, чтобы аккуратно удалить слой крупных частиц пыли.
  • Удалите мельчайшие частицы пыли. Используйте чистую материю из микроволокна для удаления оставшихся частиц пыли. Избегайте отбеленных и окрашенных тканей, так как они могут повредить красочный слой.
  • Очистите икону. Используйте новую чистую материю из микроволокна, слегка смоченную разбавленным спиртом, чтобы удалить грязь и сажу. В России люди традиционно используют водку для этой цели, так что, если у вас она есть, не стесняйтесь протереть свою икону тонким слоем русской водки. Обратите внимание, что если грязь не исчезает сразу, то разбавленный спирт уже не поможет. Прекратите дальнейшие попытки очистить икону самостоятельно и обратитесь к профессиональному реставратору. В противном случае, вы можете повредить покрытие.
  • Отполируйте икону. Если вам удалось очистить свою православную икону, самое время отполировать ее льняным маслом. Но не переусердствуйте! Тонкого слоя льняного масла вполне достаточно. После того, как работа будет завершена, позвольте вашей иконе высохнуть естественным образом (приблизительно 3 дня).
  • Перекреститесь. Даже если вы не религиозны, перекреститесь. В конце концов, православные иконы считаются священными образами, которые служат «окнами в небесный мир».

Пожалуйста, учтите, что описанный выше метод очистки религиозных икон нельзя применять к ценным, сильно поврежденным или редким старинным иконам музейного качества, требующим профессиональной реставрации. В данном случае мы рекомендуем обратиться за помощью к специалистам сайта Русской Иконы. Наши талантливые реставраторы, обладающие большим опытом, неоднократно доказывали свою эффективность, выполняя огромное количество реставрационных проектов. Мы работаем даже с самыми уникальными памятниками иконописного искусства. Просто сообщите нам о вашей проблеме, и мы сделаем все возможное, чтобы помочь вам ее решить!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

How to Clean Orthodox Icons at Home

How to Clean Orthodox Icons at Home?

Whether it comes to antique Russian icons, Greek Orthodox icons, Byzantine religious icons, Coptic icons, or any other Orthodox Christian icons – they all are the same on a practical and theological level. Even though they may be different from one another, each of them is still a representation of particular concepts and ideas that are unique to Christianity. Moreover, hand-painted Orthodox icons are not only sacred images venerated by Christian believers but also amazing pieces of religious icon art. That is exactly why so many people from around the world, including those who are not Christians or even religious, collect Orthodox icons and artifacts.

If you are a lucky owner of an old Russian icon or any other religious icon, then most likely you want to know how to preserve it for future generations. Start with its cleaning! Here is a simple guide on how to do it at home:

  • Dust the icon. Use a feather duster or a wide squirrel hair brush to gently remove the layer of the largest dust particles.
  • Remove the smallest dust particles. Use a clean microfiber cloth to remove final traces of dust. Avoid using bleached and dyed fabrics, or you can damage the painted layer.
  • Clean your religious icon. Use another clean microfiber cloth slightly moistened with dilute alcohol to remove the grime and soot. In Russia, people traditionally use vodka for this purpose. So if you have it, do not hesitate to wipe your religious icon with a thin layer of Russian vodka. Please note that if the dirt doesn’t disappear immediately, then dilute alcohol doesn’t work. In such a case, stop any further attempts to clean the icon yourself and consult professional restorer. Otherwise, you can damage the finish.
  • Polish the icon. If you succeed with cleaning your Orthodox icon, now it’s time to go further and polish it with linseed oil. However, do not overdo it! A thin layer of linseed oil is enough. After the work is done, allow the hand-painted icon to dry naturally (approximately 3 days).
  • Cross yourself. Even if you are not religious, cross yourself. After all, Orthodox Christian icons are considered sacred images that serve as “windows into heaven.”

Please take into account that the written above method of cleaning religious icons cannot be applied to valuable, severely damaged, or rare antique icons of museum quality that require professional restoration services. In such a case, we recommend you to contact Russian Icon for help. Our talented restorers with extensive experience have proven themselves repeatedly by completing a huge number of restoration projects. We can deal with even the most unique pieces of religious icon art! Just let us know about your problem, and we will do our best to help you solve it!

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!