Иконы и События, Почитаемые перед Старым Новым Годом

Circumcision of Jesus Christ

Несмотря на то, что Новый Год официально отмечается 1 января, многие православные христиане дополнительно празднуют Старый Новый Год, который отмечается 14 января по григорианскому календарю. Как вы знаете, до этой даты Православная Церковь празднует один из двунадесятых праздников – Богоявление или Крещение Господне. Однако существует еще несколько важных событий, святых и икон, которые также стоит вспомнить в эти дни.

1. Обрезание Господне (1 января)

На восьмой день после рождения, Христос принял обрезание в соответствии с ветхозаветным законом. Именно тогда Господу было дано имя Иисус, что означает «Спаситель». Восточно-православные иконы Обрезания Господня встречаются довольно редко и обычно изображают младенца Христа, лежащего между Матерью Божией, Иосифом и священниками, один из которых держит маленький нож. Кроме того, религиозные иконы этого типа могут также изображать святого Василия Великого, день памяти которого совпадает с днем Обрезания.

2. Святой Василий Великий (1 января)

Святой Василий Великий был выдающимся богословом и святителем в IV веке. Он родился около 330 года в благочестивой и богатой семье в Кесарии, административном центре Каппадокии. Известный своим вкладом в аскетическое движение, святой Василий Великий заботился только о защите православной веры. На иконах святых он обычно изображается как мужчина средних лет с черными волосами и бородой, тонким темным лицом и высоким лбом, со свитком или евангелием в руке.

3. Серафим Саровский (2 января)

Серафим Саровский был русским аскетом, которого считают чудотворцем. Он родился в 1759 году в городе Курске. Серафим Саровский, вероятно, является одним из самых легко узнаваемых на православных иконах святых по простой причине – многие из изображений Серафима были сделаны еще при его жизни.

4. Собор Иоанна Предтечи (7 января)

Пророк Иоанн Предтеча был Крестителем Иисуса Христа. Поскольку в Православной Церкви принято почитать святых, непосредственно участвовавших в священном событии, Собор Иоанна Предтечи – это день, отмечаемый сразу после одного из двунадесятых праздников – Богоявления. Религиозные иконы этого святого обычно изображают его с темными густыми волосами и бородой, в мантии и хитоне, держащего развернутый свиток.

5. Феодосий Великий (11 января)

Святой Феодосий Великий (Феодосий Киновиарх) был игуменом, монахом и основателем общежительного монашества. Он родился в селении Могарион в Каппадокии и жил в годы Льва Фракийца, восточно-римского императора в 457—474 годах. Восточно-православные иконы святых обычно изображают его как лысеющего человека с высоким лбом и длинной белой бородой, держащего в руке развернутый свиток.

Счастливого и благословенного Нового 2017 Года!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Holy Icons and Events to Remember before Orthodox New Year

Circumcision of Jesus Christ

While New Year’s Day that marks the start of a new year is officially celebrated on January 1, many Eastern Orthodox Christians additionally celebrate Orthodox New Year, also known as the “Old New Year,” which is on January 14 according to the Gregorian calendar. As you know, before this date, the entire Orthodox Church celebrates one of the Twelve Great Feasts – The Theophany of Christ. However, there are also several other important events, saints, and holy icons to remember these days.

1. Circumcision of Jesus Christ (January 1st)

On the eighth day after the Nativity of Christ, He was circumcised in accordance with the Old Testament Law. This is when our Lord received His name – Jesus, which means “Savior.” Eastern Orthodox Church icons of the Circumcision are quite rare and usually depict the infant Christ lying between the Mother of God, Joseph, and priests, one of whom is holding a small knife. Besides, religious icon paintings of this type may also depict Saint Basil the Great, who is celebrated on the same day.

2. Saint Basil the Great (January 1st)

Saint Basil the Great was a prominent theologian and a leading churchman in the 4th century. He was born circa 330 in a pious and wealthy family in Caesarea of Cappadocia. Famous for his contribution to the ascetic movement, Saint Basil the Great had no other care than to defend holy Orthodoxy. In holy icons of saints, he is usually depicted as a middle-aged man with black hair and beard, a thin dark face, and high forehead, with a scroll or a Gospel in his hand.

3. Seraphim of Sarov (January 2nd)

Seraphim of Sarov was a Russian ascetic who is considered a wonder-worker. He was born in the town of Kursk in 1759. Seraphim of Sarov is probably one of the most easily recognizable saints in Eastern Orthodox icons due to a simple reason – many of Seraphim’s depictions were made during his lifetime.

4. Synaxis of John the Forerunner (January 7th)

John the Forerunner, the glorious Prophet, was the Baptizer of Jesus Christ. Since it is customary in the Orthodox Church to remember saints participated directly in the sacred event, the Synaxis of John the Forerunner is a day celebrated right after one of the Twelve Great Feasts – The Theophany of Christ. Religious icon paintings of this saint usually depict him with dark bushy hair and beard, wearing a mantle and chiton, and holding an unfolded scroll.

5. Theodosius the Cenobiarch (January 11th)

Saint Theodosius the Cenobiarch was an abbot, a monk, and a founder of the cenobitic monasticism. He was born in Mogarissos, a village in Cappadocia, and lived during the years of Leo of Thrace, who was Eastern Roman Emperor from 457 to 474. Eastern Orthodox Church icons of saints usually depict him as a balding man with a high forehead and a long white beard, holding an unfolded scroll in his hands.

Happy and Blessed New Year 2017!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.