Методы Реставрации Старинной Иконы

Antique Icon Restoration Methods

Русская традиция написания религиозных икон восходит к 988 году, когда Киевская Русь была обращена в христианство. Однако эти самые первые старинные русские иконы были, по сути, византийскими иконами с той лишь разницей, что они были написаны монахами в Киеве. Русские иконографические центры появились только в XII веке, тем самым обозначив новую главу в развитии религиозного иконописного искусства.

Отличающиеся приглушенными и сдержанными цветами, экспрессионистским стилем написания и фигурами с длинными конечностями и большими глазами, русские иконы вскоре стали очень популярными, такими они остаются и сегодня. Более того, сейчас они являются не только лишь духовными инструментами, используемыми для поклонения Богу, но также и прекрасными произведениями искусства, которые коллекционируют многие люди. Отсюда возникает вопрос: как сохранить эти важные религиозные объекты и вернуть их прежнюю красоту? Вам нужны профессиональные услуги по реставрации старинных икон!

Прежде всего, важно отметить, что ваша попытка отреставрировать старинную икону самостоятельно может привести к катастрофе, поэтому даже не пытайтесь сделать это без посторонней помощи. Вместо этого обратитесь к профессиональному реставратору, который знаком с различными методами реставрации и может подобрать наиболее подходящий для вашего случая, в зависимости от состояния, возраста и структуры вашей иконы.

Основные методы реставрации икон, о которых вы должны знать

  • «Обновление» иконы

Так называемое «обновление» иконы – это самый щадящий метод реставрации, однако его можно применить только к старинной иконе с незначительными повреждениями. При использовании этого метода реставратор заменяет недостающие фрагменты грунта и реконструирует поверхность иконы поверх старого лака. Стоит также отметить, что в некоторых случаях реставратор может покрыть всю поверхность иконы новым слоем грунта и сверху нанести абсолютно другое изображение. Несмотря на то, что такой метод не рекомендуется использовать, он не является катастрофическим, поскольку этот новый слой позже может быть удален.

  • Полная реставрация

Если ваша старинная икона имеет слишком потемневшее лаковое покрытие или значительные потери красочного слоя, единственный способ вернуть ей красоту – это использовать метод полной реставрации. В таком случае реставратор удаляет лак, очищает окрашенную поверхность, добавляет новые фрагменты грунта и реконструирует изображение на иконе, используя свежие слои краски поверх старой окрашенной поверхности. Как вы уже могли догадаться, эта процедура может легко снизить ценность иконы, особенно если она выполняется неопытным реставратором.

Таким образом, если вы хотите отреставрировать свою старинную икону, при этом сохранив ее ценность, очень важно использовать только профессиональные услуги по реставрации. Обращайтесь к команде сайта Русской Иконы для получения любой информации, касательно этого сложного процесса!

Contact us

Write to us if you want to buy this product.

Antique Icon Restoration Methods

Antique Icon Restoration Methods

The Russian tradition of painting religious icons goes back to the year 988 when Kievan Rus’ was converted to Christianity. However, these very first antique Russian icons were, in fact, Byzantine icons, with the only difference: they were painted by monks in Kiev. Russian iconographic centers appeared only in the 12th century, marking a new chapter in the development of religious icon art.

Distinguished by subdued and restrained colors, expressionistic style of painting, and long-limbed figures with big eyes, Russian icons soon became very popular and still are today. Moreover, they are now not only divinely inspired instruments used to worship God, but also beautiful works of art collected by many people. Hence the question arises, how to protect these important religious items and restore them to their former beauty? You need professional antique icon restoration services!

First of all, it is important to note that your attempt to restore an antique icon yourself can lead to disaster, so do not even try to do it on your own. Instead, contact a professional restorer who knows different methods of restoration and can choose the most appropriate one, depending on your icon’s condition, age, and material structure.

Major icon restoration methods you should know about

  • Icon “renewal”

The so-called icon “renewal” is the most non-destructive method of restoration, but it can be applied to only a lightly damaged antique icon. When using this method, the restorer fills the losses in the ground and repaints the icon’s surface over the old varnish. It is also worth noting that, in some cases, the restorer can also cover the entire surface of the icon with the new ground and paint a completely different composition over it. Even though such a method is not recommended, it is not destructive as this new layer can be later removed.

  • Full restoration

If your antique icon has too dark varnish or considerable losses of the color layer, the only way to return its beauty is to use a full restoration method. In such a case, the restorer removes the varnish, cleans the painted surface, adds new fragments of the ground, and repaints the icon with a fresh layer of paint over the old painted surface. As you might have already guessed, this procedure can easily reduce the value of the icon, especially if it is performed by an inexperienced restorer.

Thereby, if you want both to restore your icon and to preserve its value, it is of utmost importance to order only professional antique icon restoration services. Contact Russian Icon team for any information regarding this challenging process!

We Buy Icons and Antiques

Russian Icon is always looking to purchase authentic antique Russian icons and religious artifacts created in the 19th century or earlier. We are interested in all types of quality hand-painted icons and relics. Our team of professional experts has a wide range of knowledge in a variety of areas related to Eastern Orthodox Church icons and is able to handle the purchase of even the most valuable collection. Moreover, Russian Icon offers accurate, honest financial appraisals for all possible religious icon collections, ranging from full estates to single items. In other words, if you are looking to sell your antique icon or a whole collection, you are in the right place! Just let us know, and we will give you the true value of your Orthodox icon or religious artifact. We will be happy to handle any of your selling needs while providing an unrivaled personal service. At Russian Icon, we believe that no antique icon collection is too large!